Debut hydro race is a hit at Columbia Cove

Tony Newton Memorial Regatta will return

Marissa Bartels wins one for the girls as the driver of Monkey Business, Mike Maltais/QCH photos

DT Painting, winner of the 2.5 litre S Class, gets some engine attention.

Steve Huff, driving No. 98 Faster Than Cancer, celebrates his E Class win.

An up-front tip for any would-be race course holdup artists.

Race Director Jim LaBrie, left, presents the Tony Newton Memorial trophy to Dan Rayner, owner/driver of the vintage hydro E-280 for his tireless help throughout the race. Pictured at right is crew volunteer Dorie Ross.

Part of the fun is a good view of the action from shore.

BREWSTER – The Tony Newton Memorial Regatta debuted at Columbia Cove Park on Saturday and Sunday, Sept. 10-11, and the reviews from both quarters – city and race officials – are supportive of a return visit next year.

Tacoma Inboard Racing Association officials had to make some last-minute adjustments on the racecourse. Kip Brown of TIRA explained the problem:

“When I went out there today (Friday, Sept. 9) I found all kinds of shallow spots and had to completely change the area where we run,” said Brown. “We need a minimum of four feet of depth.”

With venues getting more difficult to use on the west side of the state, Brewster provided a fresh opportunity to add to the season schedule.

“One of the main reasons for coming out here was the city is behind it, the people are behind it, and it ties in nicely with Pateros,” Brown said.

Organizers are already looking forward to next year with vendors and perhaps live entertainment.

“We’d like to make it more of a festival than just a boat race,” said Brown.

Comments at last week’s Brewster city council meeting were encouraging for a return engagement.

“There was not a speck of trash left,” said public works director Lee Webster. “Not even a candy wrapper.”

“It was the best event we’ve ever had at the park,” added mayor Art Smyth.

Race results:

“T” Class (1.5 Litre)                                             Owner/Driver

  1. No. 56  Real Deal                       Steve Walde/Haley Scarborough
  2. No. 9    Miss APBA                     Kip Brown/Katie Brown

“Y” Class (1 Litre)

  1. No. 18  Fast Eddie Too               Jim Sechler/Jeff Bernard
  2. No. 28  Lakeside Paving             Gunnar O’Farrell
  3. No. 45 Sweet Lemon Racing      Dave         Lem/Brad Sanchez

“S” Class (2.5 Litre Stock)

  1. No. 3 DT Painting                      Dave Trisco/Jeff Bernard
  2. No. 12  Monkey Business          Jason Elhard/Chris Fanaris
  3. No. 45  Lunatic Fringe               Kyle Davenport

“A” Class (2.5 Litre Modified)

  1. No. 12  Monkey Business          Jason Elhard/Marissa Bartels
  2. No. 45  Lunatic Fringe               Kyle Davenport
  3. No. 5  Joshua Tree                      Mike Jarvis

“E” Class (5 Litre)

  1. No. 98  Faster Than Cancer       Steve Huff
  2. No. 20                                         Justin Weymouth/Travis Ulsh
  3. No. 46                                         Rochelle Hill

“SE” Class (Sport C Outboard)

  1. SE 22  Gitch-22                         Gary Hansen/Kip Brown
  2. SE 7  Lil Blue                             Joe Cushing/Paul “Kiwi” Russell
  3. SE 35                                          Jeff Humphrey/Jen Cushing

OPC (Formula 1)

  1. No. 560                                       Gary Hansen/Will Hough
  2. No. 600                                       Mike White
  3. No. 447                                       Wes Fridell               


User menu

NCW Media Newspapers