Local high school graduates receive CFNCW scholarships

BREWSTER – Ten senior graduates from local high schools, five from Brewster, four from Pateros and one from Mansfield were among 152 recipients across North Central Washington sharing $542,816 in scholarships this year from the Community Foundation of North Central Washington (CFNCW).   

“This is the largest scholarship award total disbursed from the foundation to date,” a media release from CFNCW said.

Local scholarship recipients are:


Brady Busching

Lizet Cruz

Lauren Gelstin

Esmeralda Ochoa

Angie Vazquez


Roberta Hall

Emily Larsen

Aubrey Miller

Anna Schluneger


Jayden Minatani

A total of 1,472 applicants were received and were reviewed by more than 237 volunteers serving on CFNCW selection committees.

“Each scholarship is unique with varying criteria,” said the CFNCW release. “While many focus on academic achievement, most seek to support the hard-working students that show great potential and have a significant financial need.”

“It’s an honor to award this amount of scholarships for our donors, who truly care about helping our local students get to college and achieve their dreams,” said CFNCW executive director Beth Stipe. “We are continually humbled by the generous people in our region – the future is brighter for these students, thanks to their support.”

CFNCW scholarships are offered annually. The next round of scholarship applications opens Jan. 1, 2018, with most applications due on March 1.

CFNCW manages 97 unique scholarship funds established by generous individuals, families, and businesses that feel passionate about helping students ease the financial burden of pursuing a college degree.

A full listing of scholarship recipients and more information can be found at www.cfncw.com.

User menu

NCW Media Newspapers