Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Auditors certify Okanogan, Douglas county election results


OKANOGAN – As of 11 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 27, results for the Nov. 6 General Election were certified by the auditors for both Okanogan and Douglas counties.

In both Okanogan and Douglas counties there was little movement among the initiatives or candidates from results reported at mid-month.
Republican incumbent Jim Detro won re-election as Okanogan County Commissioner District 3.

Detro told the Quad that the big issues he plans to focus on during his next four year include granting perpetuity for the Smokejumper base in Winthrop, fully funded state payment in lieu of taxes (PILT), and permanent federal funding for PILT and SRS (State Rural Schools).

Detro also seeks a solution for apex predators in the county and wants funds derived from cannabis growing operations to be applied to criminal justice needs.

Aside from the above, “the rest is what walks through the door as problems to be solved for the county on a daily basis,” Detro said.
New Okanogan County Prosecutor Arian Noma (R) maintained a commanding lead over Branden Platter (D).

“I plan on immediately assisting my newly inherited staff in transitioning to our new mission,” Noma told the Quad. “I want them to know that they truly have my support and I understand the stress and tension the election may have caused.” 

As things settle down Noma said the goal is to “begin to implement the plans of prosecutorial reform that I campaigned upon.”

“Ultimately, it will be our goal to be SMART on crime in order to prevent crime, protect public safety, and improve our community,” Noma said.
Anthony Hawley is the new Okanogan County Sheriff and Carli Hall is County Auditor.

Initiative 1631 concerning fees on pollution sources was defeated in both counties and statewide.

I-1634 dealing with taxation on certain items for human consumption won approval in both counties as well as statewide.

Initiative 940 on additional law enforcement training and new standards for use of deadly force passed easily statewide but lost by a narrow margin in Okanogan County and by a wider margin in Douglas.

Senate Bill 6269 regarding expanded oil spill response, was repealed locally and statewide.

While Dino Rossi won the Douglas County vote for U.S. Representative for the 8th Congressional District, he lost the multi-county vote to Kim Schrier.

Ann Diamond led Keith Goehner in the Okanogan County vote for State Representative Position 1 in the 12th Legislative District, but Goehner won the multi-county vote.

Marc Straub defeated Norman Tupling for Douglas County Commissioner 3, and Kevin Morris won Douglas County Sheriff over Leeon Leyde by 30 percentage points.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here