Sunday, February 25, 2024

Brewster, Pateros, swear in council members, city officials


BREWSTER/PATEROS – The mayor and three city council members were administered the oath of office at the regular meeting of the Brewster City Council last Wednesday, Jan. 10.
Brewster City Clerk and Finance Director Misty Ruiz administered the oath to incumbent mayor Art Smyth, incumbent council members Jan May and John Housden, and new council member Emmanuel “Manny” Hurtado.
This is the second four-year term for Smyth, May and Housden all of whom ran unopposed in last year’s general election. Hurtado is serving his first term after narrowly defeating two-term incumbent Ramiro Villagrana by three votes, 66-63.
Pateros City Clerk/Treasurer Kerri Wilson swore in mayor Carlene Anders for her second term and councilman Mike Harding for his first elected term at the Dec. 18 regular city council meeting. Harding was appointed last January to fill the vacancy left by Ryan Greene.
Incumbent council member Christine Perry was scheduled to be sworn in at the council’s Jan. 17 meeting where council members were also prepared to interview the only qualified candidate to fill the seat vacated by Adam Fritz at the end of 2017.

brewster, pateros, council memebers


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here