Sunday, July 14, 2024

Douglas County voters favor Rossi, Straub, Morris


WATERVILLe – With 12,448 ballots already counted as of Friday, Nov. 9, and only an estimated 1,000 remaining, the results of the Nov. 6 General Election for Douglas County candidates is largely decided.    

Dino Rossi, (R) running for U.S. Representative in the 8th Congressional District, easily outpolled his Democratic challenger, Kim Schrier with 60 percent of the Douglas County vote, but was losing by some 14,000 votes in the multi-county total.

Marc Straub is the new Douglas County Commissioner for District 3, and acting Douglas County Sheriff Kevin Morris who filled the vacancy left by Harvey Gjesdal won election to that office by an almost 20-1 margin.

Douglas County voters were on the losing side of two state Initiatives, voting against I-1639, the measure adding restrictions to semiautomatic assault rifles by 63 percent while statewide the issue was passing by almost 60 percent.

Douglas County voters also voted against I-940, the law enforcement measure addressing deadly force and additional training, by 57 percent while statewide it was passing by almost 60 percent.

On the remaining initiatives, I-1631 dealing with pollution fees, and I-1634 concerning taxation on certain food items, Douglas County voted in line with the statewide consensus.
The results will be certified locally and statewide on Tuesday, Nov. 27.
A capital bold X is placed next to each winning candidate.  
U.S. Representative 4th Congressional District
X Dan Newhouse (R) 4,836 (70.37%) Douglas County only            
Christine Brown (D) 2,036 (29.63%) Douglas County only    

U.S. Representative 8th Congressional District
X Kim Schrier (D) 2,099 (39.7%) Douglas County only; 154,630 (52.4%) Multi-county        Dino Rossi (R) 3,188 (60.3%) Douglas County only; 140,476 (47.6%) Multi-county

12th Legislative District Position 1
X Keith Goehner (R) 7,501 (62.18%) Douglas County only        
Ann Diamond (I) 4,563 (37.82%) Douglas County only     

12th Legislative District Position 2
X Mike Steele (R) 8,451 (70.15%) Douglas County only
Valerie Sarratt (D) 3,596 (29.85) Douglas County only

Douglas County Commissioner District 3
X Marc Straub (R) 6,605 (64.53%)
Norman Tupling (R) 3,631 (35.47%)

Douglas County Sheriff
X Kevin Morris (R) 7,184 (65.85%)
Leeon Leyde (R) 3,726 (34.15%)

Douglas Countywide District Court Judge
X Eric C. Biggar 7,441 (70.4%)              
Robert Hunter 3,129 (29.6%)

Supreme Court Justice Position 8
X Steve Gonzalez 5,762 (58.28%) Douglas County only
Nathan Choi 4,124 (41.72%) Douglas County only


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here